Monday, October 26, 2015

The Upside of Irrationality: The Unexpected Benefits of Defying Logic at Work and at Home

by Dan Ariely 
online access from Books24x7
check holdings in CityU Library Catalogue

Focusing on our behaviors at work and in relationships, this provocative book offers new insights and eye-opening truths about what really motivates us on the job, how one unwise action can become a long-term habit, how we learn to love the ones we're with, and more.

“Dan Ariely is a genius at understanding human behavior: no economist does a better job of uncovering and explaining the hidden reasons for the weird ways we act.” — James Surowiecki, author of The Wisdom of Crowds

Behavioral economist and New York Times bestselling author of Predictably Irrational Dan Ariely returns to offer a much-needed take on the irrational decisions that influence our dating lives, our workplace experiences, and our temptation to cheat in any and all areas. Fans of Freakonomics, Survival of the Sickest, and Malcolm Gladwell’s Blink and The Tipping Point will find many thought-provoking insights in The Upside of Irrationality.

(Excerpt from

葉靈鳳香港史系列: 張保仔的傳說和真相、香港的失落、香港方物志、香島滄桑錄、香海浮沉錄

online access from SuperStar Digital Library (張保仔的傳說和真相)
online access from SuperStar Digital Library (香港的失落)
online access from SuperStar Digital Library (香港方物志)
online access from SuperStar Digital Library (香海浮沉錄)
check holdings in CityU Library Catalogue










Monday, October 19, 2015

The Great Escape : Health, Wealth, and the Origins of Inequality

Angus Deaton
online access from MyiLibrary
check holdings in CityU Library Catalogue
check books by Angus Deaton in CityU Library Catalogue

The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2015 was awarded to Angus Deaton "for his analysis of consumption, poverty, and welfare". (

The world is a better place than it used to be. People are healthier, wealthier, and live longer. Yet the escapes from destitution by so many has left gaping inequalities between people and nations. In The Great Escape, Angus Deaton--one of the foremost experts on economic development and on poverty--tells the remarkable story of how, beginning 250 years ago, some parts of the world experienced sustained progress, opening up gaps and setting the stage for today's disproportionately unequal world. Deaton takes an in-depth look at the historical and ongoing patterns behind the health and wealth of nations, and addresses what needs to be done to help those left behind.

Deaton describes vast innovations and wrenching setbacks: the successes of antibiotics, pest control, vaccinations, and clean water on the one hand, and disastrous famines and the HIV/AIDS epidemic on the other. He examines the United States, a nation that has prospered but is today experiencing slower growth and increasing inequality. He also considers how economic growth in India and China has improved the lives of more than a billion people. Deaton argues that international aid has been ineffective and even harmful. He suggests alternative efforts--including reforming incentives to drug companies and lifting trade restrictions--that will allow the developing world to bring about its own Great Escape.

Demonstrating how changes in health and living standards have transformed our lives, The Great Escape is a powerful guide to addressing the well-being of all nations.

(Excerpt from


小思 著
online access from SuperStar Digital Library
check holdings in CityU Library Catalogue






Monday, October 12, 2015

Academic Writing : A Handbook for International Students

Stephen Bailey
online access from Taylor & Francis eBooks
check holdings in CityU Library Catalogue
Academic Writing : A Handbook for International Students... writing good academic English is a demanding task. The new, fourth edition of Academic Writing: A Handbook for International Students has been completely revised to help students reach this goal.

The four main parts of Academic Writing are:
• The writing process
• Elements of writing
• Vocabulary for writing
• Writing models

Each part is divided into short units which contain examples, explanations and exercises, for use in the classroom or for self-study. The units are clearly organised to allow teachers and students find the help they need with writing tasks, while cross-referencing allows easy access to relevant sections.

In the first part, each stage of the writing process is demonstrated and practised, from selecting suitable sources, reading, note-making and planning through to re-writing and proof-reading.

The fourth edition of this popular course builds on the success of the earlier editions, and has a special focus on the vital topic of academic vocabulary in part three, Vocabulary for Writing. Part three deals with areas such as nouns and adjectives, adverbs and verbs, synonyms, prefixes and prepositions, in an academic context. More key features of the book include:
• All elements of writing are clearly explained, with a full glossary for reference
• Models provided for all types of academic texts: essays, reports, reviews and case-studies
• Full range of practice exercises, with answer key included
• Use of authentic academic texts
• A companion website offers further practice with a range of additional exercises
• Fully updated, with sections on finding electronic sources and evaluating internet material

Students wanting to maximise their academic potential will find this practical and easy-to-use book an invaluable guide to writing in English for their degree courses.

(Excerpt from

戰爭中沒有女性 (War's Unwomanly Face)

斯薇特蘭娜. 阿列克茜葉維契 (Svetlana Alexievich)
online access from SuperStar Digital Library
check holdings in CityU Library Catalogue
check books by Svetlana Alexievich in CityU Library Catalogue

戰爭中沒有女性 (War's Unwomanly Face) / Svetlana Alexievich 《戰爭中沒有女性》是2015年諾貝爾文學獎得主斯維特拉娜·阿列克西耶維奇(Svetlana Alexievich)的作品。



Monday, October 5, 2015

The Elements of Academic Style: Writing for the Humanities

Eric Hayot
online access from ebrary
check holdings in CityU Library Catalogue
check print books on the same subject in CityU Library Catalogue

The Elements of Academic Style: Writing for the Humanities / Eric HayotEric Hayot teaches graduate students and faculty in literary and cultural studies how to think and write like a professional scholar. From granular concerns, such as sentence structure and grammar, to big-picture issues, such as adhering to genre patterns for successful research and publishing and developing productive and rewarding writing habits, Hayot helps ambitious students, newly minted Ph.D.'s, and established professors shape their work and develop their voices.

Hayot does more than explain the techniques of academic writing. He aims to adjust the writer's perspective, encouraging scholars to think of themselves as makers and doers of important work. Scholarly writing can be frustrating and exhausting, yet also satisfying and crucial, and Hayot weaves these experiences, including his own trials and tribulations, into an ethos for scholars to draw on as they write. Combining psychological support with practical suggestions for composing introductions and conclusions, developing a schedule for writing, using notes and citations, and structuring paragraphs and essays, this guide to the elements of academic style does its part to rejuvenate scholarship and writing in the humanities.

(Excerpt from

研究設計與方法 (Research Design and Methods)

肯尼斯·S·博登斯 (Kenneth S. Bordens) , 布魯斯·B·阿博特 (Bruce B. Abbott)
online access from SuperStar Digital Library
check holdings in CityU Library Catalogue

研究設計與方法  (Research Design and Methods) 本書從研究設計的通用原理、研究設計方法和結果分析等三部分,對心理學研究方法進行闡述。不但是心理學專業,而且也是社會科學裡很多專業的學習者都值得閱讀的一本書。